Home » Uncategorized » Unfaithful

Unfaithful

I am happy with my 17-Day Diet regimen (back to Phase 1). The Greek yogurt and honey for breakfast still makes me happy. I am still excited by the sight of collard greens and grilled chicken. The steamed fish still makes me sigh with bliss.

Then one day, this coworker of mine heated up her lunch in the office microwave. The aroma caught my attention. Savory. Decadent, I bet. So I asked what it was and she said Paleo. Even the name sounds sexy! It was a Paleo Diet and just like most “fad” diets I assumed it was heavy on the pocket. She broke down the numbers… and it was good. Must be hard to make so just to humor her I asked for the recipe. Damn! That’s easy to make!

Call me unfaithful. Here’s the recipe:

SAUSAGE WITH LEEKS AND TOMATOES

2 Tbs coconut oil
3 medium leeks, chopped (whites and light green sections)
1 lb ground, seasoned sausage
1 (28 oz) can fired-roasted, crushed tomatoes
juice of 1/2 lemon
2 Tbs Italian seasoning
1/2 tsp granulated garlic
1/2 tsp red pepper flakes (optional)
2 tsp sea salt (or to taste)
1 head cauliflower (florets only)
Instructions
Heat a 3-4 quart pan over medium-high heat. When hot, add oil and leeks, and saute for 3-5 minutes.
Add ground sausage and cook, stirring frequently, until meat is done.
Add tomatoes, Italian seasoning, granulated garlic, lemon and red pepper flakes (optional). Simmer over medium heat for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally.
Meanwhile, microwave the cauliflower for 5 minutes (or roast at 450 F for 20 minutes), and pulse in a food processor until a rice-like consistency is formed.
Season the sausage and tomato sauce with sea salt to taste, and serve over the cauliflower.

Leave a Reply

