Home » Diet » Been there. Done that.

Been there. Done that.

I’ve been on diets forever. 3-Day Diet, Cabbage Soup Diet, South Beach Diet and so many others. Some of them worked, and some of them, well, just made me miserable. It was late September 2011 when a co-worker said 3 words I have never heard of before. 17 Day Diet.

I was never thin. Well, maybe except for that one brief episode in college. But I have always been that “chubby” kid. The chubby teen, the chubby young adult… you get the drift. I weighed in the 120lbs in my early twenties, jumped to the 150s in my early thirties. I was a size 14 on my wedding day. I don’t recall how it crept up on me but soon enough, I progressed to a size 16, then size 18. Before I knew it I was 40 and weighed 180 lbs! To put things in perspective, the ideal weight for my age and height is 120 — I was 60 lbs overweight!

Then in the summer of 2011, noticing a slight pinch and tightness in my size 18 clothes, I tipped the scale at 190lbs (unfortunately, I was part of a big group of cousins who went on a vacation in Canada and there are hundreds of photos to prove my claim)!

Fast forward to that fateful September day with Annabelle, with her pink 17 Day Diet book. I just copied what she got for her lunch that day and I declared, I start my diet today.

Here’s a recipe from Healthy Living that made this diet a bit more appetizing:

Creamy Salmon Rolls

Bagels are the traditional accompaniment to lox and cream cheese, but since you can’t eat bagels until later on the diet, here’s an amazing alternative that will satisfy your taste buds while waiting. From The 17 Day Diet Cookbook by Dr. Mike Moreno.
INGREDIENTS
4 ounces thinly sliced lox or smoked salmon
1/2 cup yogurt cheese made from fat-free, plain Greek yogurt (see recipe here)
1/2 teaspoon fresh dill
1/2 teaspoon finely grated lemon zest
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
1 large cucumber, sliced into 1/4-inch disks
DIRECTIONS
1. Lay a large piece of wax paper on your work surface. Lay the smoked salmon slices on the wax paper, overlapping them to make a large rectangle. Spread the yogurt cheese on top of the salmon; sprinkle evenly with the dill, lemon zest, and garlic powder. Using the wax paper to lift the salmon up, roll the fish like a jelly roll, taking care that the wax paper is only a guide and doesn’t get caught inside the roll. Wrap the log in plastic wrap; refrigerate for at least 1 hour or up to 24 hours.
2. Unwrap the roll; lay on a cutting board. Use a serrated knife to slice into 1/2-inch-thick pinwheels. Place each piece on top of a cucumber disk.
YIELD: 2 servings
TIP: Make ahead, slice off as much of the log as you want, then rewrap the rest of the log and refrigerate

20130401-001157.jpg

Leave a Reply

